During the American War for Independence eleven of the thirteen rebelling colonies/states established their own naval forces. Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and South Carolina all had established naval forces, or used ad hoc units before the establishment of the Continental Navy. At later dates North Carolina, Georgia, New York, Maryland and New Hampshire deployed naval units. Most of these navies relied heavily on galleys or small craft to provide coastal defense against British raiders. Massachusetts, Connecticut and, surprisingly, South Carolina, were the only state navies to undertake extensive "blue water" operations. I have used the definition of a state navy vessel rather broadly and have included the "trading" vessels and blockade runners. The links to the left will take you to a list of each navy's vessels. At the moment there is very little on these pages.

Revised 6 August 2014 © awiatsea.com